Isaac isn’t the only storm blowing through

I’ll start off by saying, for now, we are okay! We do have emergency plans and the weather forecasts say it won’t be as catastrophic as we think, however, we are all still very nervous.

But like the title insinuates, although Isaac has postponed the first day of events, the committees, delegates, crews and security have swept into this town like a hurricane. The area is in a large perimeter, only permeable with the correct credentials and bags checked, even just to walk the streets! Events are every where and some people still have to go to their fieldwork although tomorrow’s events have been convened. It is exciting and nerve wracking all at the same time. I will be working long late shifts with the Committee on Arrangements, which is a Republican Party official committee solely in charge of running the convention. I’m still unsure what my exact job is, because of all the chaos, but I guess I will find out when I get there my first day!

A little ray of silver lining in this cloud of chaos: tonight, I am working at an event called “Two Step, Soul and Rock ‘n’ Roll”. It is a party of sorts honoring the US Republican Leadership, with many Republican Representatives from Congress attending! Texas senator John Cornyn is the keynote speaker and all kinds of Award winning artists like the Commodores and the Josh Abbott Band are performing! I am excited to be a part of this event and am more excited to get to know these delegates!

I’ll try to take a few pictures at the event, but like everything else here, it is top secret until it is nationally aired so for now, no promises (trust me, I was dying to post the pictures of the Forum stage I took earlier this week!)

Until later….

Leave a Reply

